You are here

International Trade

Chrysler, Ford and GM have supported every major trade agreement negotiation to establish a 21st Century Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) free trade agreement with Australia, Brunei, Chile, New Zealand, Malaysia, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. AAPC also works to support U.S. trade relationships with other countries around the globe.

The Trans Pacific Partnership

The TPP will also provide a high standard free trade agreement model for the Asia-Pacific region, and a solid economic anchor for the United States in Asia to prevent an economic and trade divide in the middle of the Pacific region.

International Trade, and the TPP, will allow the U.S. to build on existing free trade agreements with four of the eight other countries (Australia, Chile, Peru, Singapore) by better coordinating and harmonizing gains already made in prior trade agreements with those nations. The TPP will serve as a substantial step forward by establishing free trade agreements with four new U.S. trade partners (Brunei, Malaysia, New Zealand and Vietnam). Finally, the agreement will allow the nine signatories to establish a model agreement capable of serving as a high-standard, broad-based regional pact.

May 10 2013
Written by Hiroko Tabuchi | Posted on The New York Times

For almost two decades, Japan’s economic fortunes have deteriorated, and little seemed to be done about it.

May 09 2013

U.S. automakers called on Congress to take action in response to the falling value of the Japanese yen, which they said has hurt their exports and was a good reason to keep Japan out of a proposed U.S.-led free trade pact.

Apr 30 2013
Science Daily

American University's Kogod School of Business announced today the release of a new Made in America Automotive Index that evaluates and ranks 253 car models based on country of origin and several factors not addressed by the American Automobile Labeling Act (AALA).

Filed Under: Export, International Trade
Apr 19 2013

Chrysler Group LLC's Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Sergio Marchionne addressed more than 1,000 automotive leaders at the 2013 SAE World Congress Annual Banquet today, at COBO Center in Detroit about the need to evolve the industry’s business models as well as defining a path that would produce the innovation needed to grow the auto industry in a sustainable way. 

Filed Under: International Trade